AsilahVentures Morocco Specialist

About Morocco


Al Maghreb Al Aqsa

Morocco is a country in northern Africa, situated on the shores of the Mediterranean Sea, the Strait of Gibraltar and the Atlantic Ocean, also bordering Algeria. The state of Morocco was created when the country declared independence from France on March 2, 1956. The capital of Morocco is Rabat. Other major cities are Casablanca, Fes, Marrakech, Agadir and Tangier.


Central patio of Ben Youssef Madrassa in Marrakech2
balcony with view
moroccan courtyard
blue mosaique Fes


Morocco is a parliamentary democracy with a monarchy. Since 23 July 1999, King Mohammed VI of Morocco rules the state. The National Day of Morocco is on 30th July every year, the day when King Mohammed VI succeeded his father Hassan II. In Arabic, Morocco is known as Maghreb, literally meaning, 'the place where the sun goes down'. It is so named because Morocco was then at the extreme end of the Islamic Empire and symbolically it was here where the sun set. The name can be confusing because Maghreb North Africa is called EAL Maghreb’. Therefore, Morocco was/is called Al Maghreb al Aqsa (the Far West). The name Morocco was first used by the Spaniards after the Spaniards had defeated the Almoravids. Marrakech was their capital.